Bitmap Art with the Vector Class in ActionScript 3.0 / FP10

I was playing with the new (FP10) Vector class a while ago and did some experimenting on the use of the Vector objects with the BitmapData class like the methods getVector(), setVector(), some(),…

I came to a simple system where I take a column (of random width, but less then 5 px) of pixels from an input image, shift those pixels some random amount (Vector’s splice() method) and draw it again on the canvas. I also used the Vector.some() method to do some random color correction. I used my mouse as the pencil with shorter pencil strokes at the top and larger when you come closer to the bottom.

Here you see the result I came up with called “Falling Leafs“:

Let me know what you think about it …I think Playing With Vectors (maybe an idea for a next session) is actually really cool :-p

4 responses to “Bitmap Art with the Vector Class in ActionScript 3.0 / FP10

  1. Jo Plaete 13 July , 2008 at 11:01 pm

    pretty random but cool πŸ˜‰
    cheers
    Jo

  2. Vic 29 July , 2008 at 5:22 pm

    falling leafs you say, hmm…
    seems like “spaghetti vomit” for me πŸ™‚

    but well done πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: Flash tuorials | Tutorials on Flash Player 10 Roundup part 2 | Lemlinh.com

  4. Leonid Phone 15 October , 2008 at 4:37 pm

    I line your blog, a lot of interesting things you can find out for yourself

Leave a Reply

