Clone Stamp Tool Art with Flash CS3

While I was last minute preparing my session for Flashbelt (tomorrow afternoon) in the Flashbelt hotel loby at Minneapolis today I started building a clone stamp tool in Flash. The concept is the same as you know from Photoshop. But afterwards I was thinking  to misuse (+?) it to create some generative art thingy with it.

The clone stamp lives his own way and takes place at a random position on an image, the size of the stamp is also random. The stamp copies the image data and places it on another place within in the same source image. I choose to describe a circle shape for the stamp to make it more interesting.

After running the algorythm several minutes this is what I came up with :

Roses series untitled 01:

CLONE STAMP ART part 1

Roses series untitled 02:

CLONE STAMP ART part 2

I will work a bit more on the algorythm and will post the code of the circle clone stamp tool later on when it is a bit less messy 🙂 .

Let me know what you think about the result and if you are at Flashbelt here in Minneapolis stop by tomorow during my session titled “Play With Pixels” where I will also explain a bit more about this experiment.

6 responses to “Clone Stamp Tool Art with Flash CS3

  1. Ronny 9 June , 2008 at 1:13 am

    Looks pretty cool. I wonder with what picture you started off. Might wanna try to immitate this 🙂
    Good luck with your presentation. Enjoy 🙂

  2. Chad 9 June , 2008 at 1:54 am

    Very cool. can’t wait to see the code.

  3. Quince 14 June , 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Koen,
    The stamp tool was very cool! I can’t wait to see what you do with it next.

    As an added feature, blending the pixels on the outer edge of the tool with the previous bitmaps data might make a really nice effect.

    Thanks for all the insperaton, keep killing flies!

    Quince

  4. Koen 15 June , 2008 at 1:25 am

    @quince thanks for the nice comment man ! I really liked Flashbelt and really want to come back next year 😉 Working on the blending now to make the tool more complete like the real clone stamp tool. cu next time dude, cheers KOEN.

  5. Wim 9 July , 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Koen,

    I think this is great!
    I think you really should consider to become a ‘real’ artist. No kidding.
    Maybe make some real life prints. I think the results would be very cool.

    Anyway, keep it up man and hope to see you soon!

  6. Koen 9 July , 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Hi Wim, thanks for your nice opinion man! I am busy making some more Random Clone Stamp Art actually… but I need more time in my life… i hate the fucking 24 h time system :-(.

Leave a Reply

